‘The Engine Room’ 2 Newhall Square, built in 1838, was the premises of Sir Josiah Mason and George Elkington who developed the first effective electroplating process. Elkington initiated the manufacture of everyday affordable ‘silverware’. Elkington works remained on site until the 1960s after which it was converted into the Museum of Science and Industry by Birmingham City Council. As part of the development, historic buildings were retained, restored and salvaged, materials re-used within the restoration process as permanent records of Newhall Square’s unique heritage.
In 2013, ‘The Engine Room’, a Grade II listed building, received planning and listed building consent for refurbishment and became the new home of GNA on the 1st November 2013. GNA have restored and designed the building to create 6000sqft of contemporary office accommodation, whilst still retaining the original features.